The EDP Foundation's New Artists Award was created in 2000 and it aims to reveal new national talents in the field of visual arts. Awarded biannually, it is recognised as one of the most important awards in the Portuguese art scene and the winner is chosen by an international jury, which is different for each edition. It aims to support the continued study or creative and research work by the winning artist.

In each edition, up to nine candidates are selected to take part in an exhibition where the award is attributed. This exhibition can take place in different gallery spaces throughout the country. These awards and participation in these exhibitions have proven crucial for kickstarting or reinforcing important and remarkable careers, both national and international. Among past winners are Joana Vasconcelos, Leonor Antunes, Vasco Araújo, Carlos Bunga, André Romão, Gabriel Abrantes, Priscila Fernandes e Mariana Silva.

O período de candidaturas para a edição de 2019 do Prémio decorreu entre 10 de outubro e 14 de novembro de 2018.
A equipa curatorial de seleção da 13ª edição, constituída por Inês Grosso, Sara Antónia Matos e João Silvério, vai selecionar os 6-9 finalistas com anúncio público previsto para janeiro de 2019.