There are six finalists of the EDP Foundation’s New Artists Award 2019

Isabel Madureira Andrade, Ana Mary Bilbao, Dealmeida Esilva, Mónica de Miranda, Henrique Pavão and Diana Policarpo are the six finalists of the 13th edition of the EDP Foundation's New Artists Award. The artists are going to integrate the exhibition of the Award which will open in May 2019, at MAAT. 

Selected by the curators of the exhibition, Inês Grosso, Sara Antónia Matos and João Silvério, the six finalists – chosen amongst more than 530 candidates – are going to present new artworks, produced for the exhibition and whose winner will be chosen by an international jury in the course of the exhibition. 

The EDP Foundation's New Artists Award was established in 2000 and since then it has already distinguished Joana Vasconcelos, Leonor Antunes, Vasco Araújo, Carlos Bunga, João Maria Gusmão and Pedro Paiva, João Leonardo, André Romão, Gabriel Abrantes, Priscila Fernandes, Ana Santos, Mariana Silva and Claire de Santa Coloma.

The Award is renowned as one of the most meaningful in the national artistic scenery and reveals EDP Foundation’s strong investment in the discovery of new talents and new artistic proposals in the scope of contemporary art in Portugal.

The awarding of these artists and the opportunity EDP Foundation offers them of working  with the orientation of a curator and in the context of a museum, have proved fundamental for the beginning or reinforcing of meaningful and notable national and international careers.

The exhibition opens on the 15th of May, coinciding with the international contemporary art fair - ARCOlisboa, and will be visible until October 2019, at the Central 1 gallery.



17 Apr 2019