New Artists Award 2015

Mariana Silva


Ana Jotta
João Ribas 
José Manuel dos Santos 
Elfi Turpin
Vincent Honoré


Mariana Silva is the winner of the 2015 edition of the EDP Foundation New Artists Award. The artist was selected by an international jury made up of Ana Jotta, João Ribas, José Manuel dos Santos, Elfi Turpin and Vincent Honoré. This event was included in the group exhibition that ran between 26 June and 20 September at the Electricity Museum, which also presented works by Joana Escoval, João Grama, Manuel Caldeira, Marco Pires, Nuno Vicente, Pollyanna Freire, Teresa Braula Reis and Vasco Futscher.

The selection of the nine finalists of the 2015 edition of the EDP Foundation New Artists Award, from a total of 762 candidates, was carried out by a commission comprised of Filipa Oliveira and Sérgio Mah, both independent curators, and João Pinharanda, the EDP Foundation’s artistic programming director.

The prize awarded to Mariana Silva, in the amount of 20 thousand euros, aims to support the artist’s continued studies or creative and investigative work, as well as the international expansion of her career.


Mariana Silva was born in Lisbon in 1983. She studied Painting at Lisbon University’s Faculty of Fine Arts. She won an award at the 2008 BES Revelation competition. She’s taken part in several collective exhibitions, such as: Entrevista Perpétua, Cristina Guerra Gallery, Lisbon, 2010; A Filosofia do Dinheiro, City Museum, Lisbon, 2010; Into the Unknown, Ludlow, New York, 2010; Às Artes, Cidadãos!, Serralves Museum, Porto, 2010; For Love, Not Money, Graphic Arts Triennale, Kumu Museum of Art, Tallinn, Estonia, 2011; A Revolution is a Spinning Force, Appleton Square, 2013; Indie Film Festival: Moving Image, Lisbon Cinematheque, 2015; Europe, Europe, Astrup Fearnley Museum, Oslo, 2014. Some of her solo exhibitions are: A Organização das Formas, Kunsthalle Lissabon, Lisbon, 2011; Environments with Pedro Neves Marques, e-flux, New York, 2013; Audience Response Systems, Parkour, Lisbon, 2014.
She lives and works in New York.

Finalists' works

João Grama. | Photo: António Jorge Silva

Manuel Caldeira. | Photo: António Jorge Silva

Marco Pires. | Photo: António Jorge Silva

Joana Escoval. | Photo: Miguel Baltazar

Vasco Futscher. | Photo: Miguel Baltazar

Teresa Braula Reis. | Photo: Miguel Baltazar

Pollyanna Freire. | Photo: Miguel Baltazar

Nuno Vicente. | Photo: António Jorge Silva

Mariana Silva. | Photo: António Jorge Silva